SugarSync Review

SugarSync Review

Sugarsync is recognized as one of the leading providers of personal cloud services, giving users the ability to access their personal data at any time, from any place, and using any device. Founded in 2004 by a team of industry experts in wireless and consumer Internet, it is backed by top venture capital from Silicon Valley firms and is one of the fastest growing companies of its kind.

Features:

SugarSync's most significant feature is the Universal sync platform, which structures SugarSync - the first real 'push' synchronizing system. SugarSync enables users to choose any folder in which to sync their data, and to share or access this data via the cloud. Data syncs to the cloud automatically, and users access it via multiple devices through the SugarSync mobile apps. Automatic online backup means that you will never lose another file, and data is transferred and stored securely.

Summary:

Through folder and file sharing, you can collaborate with family, friends and colleagues on files of any size, or easily upload photos and music to social media sites.

SugarSync provides the most powerful and flexible solution to managing your digital life, letting you share and sync data, documents, photos, movies, music and more across any of your devices, with an unbeatably broad range of native apps for any mobile device.

Product Ideology:

Every product developed by Sugarsync is designed to make digital life simple.

Security:

Data security is SugarSync's top priority, and their personal cloud service provides dependable security at all times. The service uses industry best practice and transfers files to the cloud using TLS (SSL 3.3), where they are stored in 128-bit AES encrypted format, the protocol uses for protecting financial transactions online. During transfer, every bit of data is verified. For additional security, you can password-protect the folders you share with others if it contains confidential or sensitive information.

Storage Space:

SugarSync offers a free 5GB data allowance. This free storage provides easy and instantaneous access to your data, as well as free mobile apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Mobile, Symbian and Blackberry devices. You gain another 250MB if you have one of these. You can obtain another 750MB by following the 'getting started program', 500MB with SugarSync's referral plan, plus 10GB to your allowance for every friend you refer who joins up to a paid account.

Ease Of Use:

SugarSync is fast and intuitive. It provides enough free space to store the files you want, with plenty of paid options to extend your plan. Mobile apps for a wide range of devices give users access to the folders they sync, effortlessly. It uses a smart and integrated automatic refreshing of the sync, so users do not have to schedule weekly updates of information and files. The service is constantly monitoring modifications to files and updates linked devices and the SugarSync cloud server as soon as they occur.

Customer Support:

The SugarSync Customer Support Portal provides user-friendly troubleshooting for problems across any device or platform. You can also get live phone, email and online chat support, and the growing community can help with any sync issue you might be experiencing.

SugarSync Customer Reviews Write Review
Appalling change management

I was one of Sugarsync's (originally Sharpcast's) earliest users. Because I have been trapped with annual subscriptions and a growing amount of data, I have not changed. But every one of their major upgrades has led to a disaster, and their technical support is glacial, always starting with treating you like an idiot. I have had to escalate to the CEO before (luckily I have contacts). Eventually problems are fixed, but this time is the final straw. If there is something better out there, don't waste your money on Sugarsync.

Reviewer: Zip zap 20th October 2015
Not Just Storage

Best way to sync files across multiple devices and platforms. Use it my MAC and PC's. Makes it easy to move between offices and home with no loss of continuity.

Reviewer: Tom14th September 2015
LIARS

They charged my credit card 249.99 WITHOUT MY APPROVAL.

Reviewer: MSAR27th August 2015
Sugarsync

Don't give these people access to your account! They will come back to charge you every year, and if you want out, the only way to get out is to cancel your through your credit card so that they no longer have access to it. They will not get back to you to complete your cancellation process. It is a black hole when you try to access their customer service. Don't do it!

Reviewer: Kenny17th August 2015
pain .... just good old PITA

I have used SugarSynch for several years, I'm probably one of their first users. That said, it is beyond me and myself why I am still their client. When all is normal, it works behind just ok, not the fastest synch ever, but just because of this entire matter is such a pain I have continued using them. BUT, when something goes wrong, like I just crashed my laptop and had to re-install everything, including SS and make sense of their setup for "which files to synch" and how you want the entire system to work out. What a cluster...., it has never made any sense to me and still doesn't. Now I have everything doubled and my 60GB folder I like to keep synched suddenly became a 120GB folder. I'm done, I'm gone, any other solution out there is probably more make-sense.

Reviewer: Keke25th March 2015
Visit SugarSync
SugarSync Customer Reviews Write Review
Appalling change management

I was one of Sugarsync's (originally Sharpcast's) earliest users. Because I have been trapped with annual subscriptions and a growing amount of data, I have not changed. But every one of their major upgrades has led to a disaster, and their technical support is glacial, always starting with treating you like an idiot. I have had to escalate to the CEO before (luckily I have contacts). Eventually problems are fixed, but this time is the final straw. If there is something better out there, don't waste your money on Sugarsync.

Reviewer: Zip zap 20th October 2015
Not Just Storage

Best way to sync files across multiple devices and platforms. Use it my MAC and PC's. Makes it easy to move between offices and home with no loss of continuity.

Reviewer: Tom14th September 2015
LIARS

They charged my credit card 249.99 WITHOUT MY APPROVAL.

Reviewer: MSAR27th August 2015
Sugarsync

Don't give these people access to your account! They will come back to charge you every year, and if you want out, the only way to get out is to cancel your through your credit card so that they no longer have access to it. They will not get back to you to complete your cancellation process. It is a black hole when you try to access their customer service. Don't do it!

Reviewer: Kenny17th August 2015
pain .... just good old PITA

I have used SugarSynch for several years, I'm probably one of their first users. That said, it is beyond me and myself why I am still their client. When all is normal, it works behind just ok, not the fastest synch ever, but just because of this entire matter is such a pain I have continued using them. BUT, when something goes wrong, like I just crashed my laptop and had to re-install everything, including SS and make sense of their setup for "which files to synch" and how you want the entire system to work out. What a cluster...., it has never made any sense to me and still doesn't. Now I have everything doubled and my 60GB folder I like to keep synched suddenly became a 120GB folder. I'm done, I'm gone, any other solution out there is probably more make-sense.

Reviewer: Keke25th March 2015
Great Stuff Get It

this is great and any folder can be marked to be copied to the cloud.

Reviewer: Dennis21st September 2014
Not worth the trouble

Have been a business user for 5 months and will be canceling soon. Service is unreliable, about 25% of my folders now have duplicate files created by a 2nd user account and now we are losing files. And there is no support other than reading the forum. Telephone support will get you a return phone call in a couple days and email support will get you a response in 12-24 hours

Reviewer: Don Pass17th September 2014
A bit too late but may be worth reading

I used Sugar Sync when I lost the Apple Family Plan in 2011. Everything went smoothly until I had a computer crash and after restoring the computer it did not recognize all the files- it created new ones from a supposedly different device. Confusing. I could not delete the old ones as there was no old computer to delete and sync the deletions. The other problem was my PDF files. I keep archived PDF files of bank and IRS forms and SugarSync displayed them as IMAGES- NOT GOOD for displaying supposedly confidential information!
I ended up going through Tech Support and they were very pomp but had no useable suggestions so I closed it down in 2012. I do not know if they corrected the problems with seeing private PDF files displayed as an image or not. Or if you can delete from the online cloud or need to use your computer to delete and then sync the deletions,

Reviewer: Sandi MacDonald13th July 2014