SOS Review

SOS Review

SOS online backup has a lot going for it with great features, customer support and ease of use but the most eye catching of them all has to be their prices. Business users can get an amazing value with the SOS business plan where every PC can be backed up for right around $25 a month. That is one of the lowest prices on the cloud backup market especially considering Unlimited PCs. SOS home users will marvel at the speed.

Features:

SOS online backup offer a very unique features that other companies simply do not. Instead of limiting their customers to only a few days of versioning, SOS chose to version everything. That means that every little change you make to a file will be saved indefinitely on the SOS server in case you need to correct a mistake or protect a file from changes. Another fairly unique feature that SOS offers is Social Media data protection. SOS customers can now protect the data on their Facebook accounts. Mac and PC users will be glad to know that SOS protects both types of systems as wells as Android OS smartphones and iOS devices.

Summary:

SOS online backup is fast, offers exactly what home users and business users are looking for and their pricing plans are affordable at the monthly and yearly rates.

Product Ideology:

SOS gives home users a few options in pricing and base that on the amount of storage space and the number of years. Also built into each home user account is SOS online backup service for up to 5 PCs. Considering that other cloud backup services charge for additional PCs, SOS starts saving their customers immediately.

Security:

SOS boasts the usual 99.999% uptime. SOS has been around since 2001 and they have proven themselves to be very reliable and trustworthy. They also offer top of the line security features to protect your files, plus they have received high praise by technology community leaders and periodicals.

Storage Space:

Business class users will be glad to know that they can get 1TB of space and unlimited PCs for their business at well under $2500. That is a great value for mid-sized to large companies. Smaller businesses can save a ton of cash by using 175GB and doing so for 1 year. That puts SOS Online Backup at one of the lowest business packages around.

Ease Of Use:

SOS Online Backup really takes the lead in control panel operation. The software is incredibly easy to learn and makes large scale deployment to PCs and laptops happen very smoothly. Another feature that is tied into the SOS control panel is SOS LiveProtect. This is a security feature that continually monitors and protects your data.

Customer Support:

Live support operators are there to assist new customers with any issues that may arise from installation of the software or any customer concerns. The SOS customer support staff is courteous and knowledgeable. SOS may also be reached on their social media accounts found on their website.

SOS Customer Reviews Write Review
Don\'t use SOS anymore

This used to be a pretty good company but something has gone wrong with their management. Apparently there is little to no communications between departments. For example - regarding a client's account a) they tried to renew an $1800 3-year plan without prior approval (fortunately the card has expired) b) offered them to the chance to give me a competitive quote and never got a call back c) SOS continued to try and get the renewal charged on the credit card (I received a notice each time they tried) d) Finally I called my representative and I told him that I was canceling the account e) got a call six months later - they were still backing up the account for my client and wanted to get paid. Recently I have another client that is willing to renew if he can get a question cleared up. His total backup number of GBs doesn't agree with what SOS says is stored on their server. Have tried for 3 weeks to get a Tech to call - no luck. That client is going with another company.

Reviewer: Anne Forby11th September 2014
STAY AWAY - THIEVES

Even two years after cancellation as per their own policy, they continue to charge my card every year. Fraudulent Business practices

Reviewer: Coleman Adams10th September 2014
AVOID SOS ONLNE BACKUP

SOS software is flawed. The engineers who designed SOS software did not have a clue what they were doing. If you read that SOS is a good product, you are reading a falsehood. SOS should be illegal. It will cause headaches. SOS will waste your time and money. SOS is a company that does not deliver the goods.

Reviewer: Never use SOS24th May 2014
Not for Macs

SugarSync is great for Windows but really bad for OS X and iOS. They advertise that their service is compatible with the Mac because they have an OS X client; however, OS X and iOS applications are bundles, and they can save data either in files or in bundles. SugarSync can't sync bundles correctly.

A bundle is really a directory that looks like a file to you. You can treat bundle as if it were a single file. Since OS X applications are bundles, you can grab them by their icons and move them around, and they still work correctly. A data file can only contain whatever the designer of the file format anticipated. A bundle can store anything.

SugarSync's servers see bundles as directories and sync them as if they were directories. That corrupts the contents of the bundle, making the data unrecoverable.

Call or email SugarSync's customer support before you sync anything. If they still don't support bundles, move on. (DropBox does support bundles by the way.)

Reviewer: Ken Collins4th March 2014
Does NOT work for the iPhone/terrible service

SOS worked OK for our laptop, although it was very slow. But it worked. Then I tried to use it for our iPhone 5 (iOS 7), as I had to do a factory reset on it (which wipes out everything) because the firmware went bad. So I used my SOS account and SOS software for the iPhone and backed up the pictures (833 of 'em). It would only do a few at a time (from perhaps 12 to as many as 30 or so) and then stop (and these very slowly). It took me over 30 hours to get them uploaded, as I did not wake up all night to restart the process. BUT when I went to retrieve them, all that are in my account are some stupid gifs of some stupid games that we do not have on our machines. NO pictures. Not a single one that I "backup up" (SOS speak for thrown away).

And their customer service is a joke. First, there is no link to to support on the website. I had to go Google it to find it. Second, there is no customer service on the weekend (middle of the day Saturday).

Bottom line:
(1) Their backup system for our photos on the iPhone failed - they lost our pictures
(2) They are slow
(3) They have terrible customer service (what review did I believe that said they had good customer service? My fault for believing the review. Their fault for not backing up our pictures).

I am switching to another service (can't be any worse than losing everything) as of today, even though I am paid up, I think, for another 6 months. I expect them to refund my money and try to find my pics, but I'm not holding my breath.

Reviewer: Jon Spencer2nd March 2014
Visit SOS
SOS Customer Reviews Write Review
Not for Macs

SugarSync is great for Windows but really bad for OS X and iOS. They advertise that their service is compatible with the Mac because they have an OS X client; however, OS X and iOS applications are bundles, and they can save data either in files or in bundles. SugarSync can't sync bundles correctly.

A bundle is really a directory that looks like a file to you. You can treat bundle as if it were a single file. Since OS X applications are bundles, you can grab them by their icons and move them around, and they still work correctly. A data file can only contain whatever the designer of the file format anticipated. A bundle can store anything.

SugarSync's servers see bundles as directories and sync them as if they were directories. That corrupts the contents of the bundle, making the data unrecoverable.

Call or email SugarSync's customer support before you sync anything. If they still don't support bundles, move on. (DropBox does support bundles by the way.)

Reviewer: Ken Collins4th March 2014
Does NOT work for the iPhone/terrible service

SOS worked OK for our laptop, although it was very slow. But it worked. Then I tried to use it for our iPhone 5 (iOS 7), as I had to do a factory reset on it (which wipes out everything) because the firmware went bad. So I used my SOS account and SOS software for the iPhone and backed up the pictures (833 of 'em). It would only do a few at a time (from perhaps 12 to as many as 30 or so) and then stop (and these very slowly). It took me over 30 hours to get them uploaded, as I did not wake up all night to restart the process. BUT when I went to retrieve them, all that are in my account are some stupid gifs of some stupid games that we do not have on our machines. NO pictures. Not a single one that I "backup up" (SOS speak for thrown away).

And their customer service is a joke. First, there is no link to to support on the website. I had to go Google it to find it. Second, there is no customer service on the weekend (middle of the day Saturday).

Bottom line:
(1) Their backup system for our photos on the iPhone failed - they lost our pictures
(2) They are slow
(3) They have terrible customer service (what review did I believe that said they had good customer service? My fault for believing the review. Their fault for not backing up our pictures).

I am switching to another service (can't be any worse than losing everything) as of today, even though I am paid up, I think, for another 6 months. I expect them to refund my money and try to find my pics, but I'm not holding my breath.

Reviewer: Jon Spencer2nd March 2014
Find something better

On a Mac, I've had nothing but problems with buggy software, crashes, anomalous failure to back up random files, and just abysmal customer support.

Reviewer: HMI1st March 2014
Go somewhere else

Extremely dissatisfied with the support. Unable to get if working for the last month. Slow upload the first time and has to be completely reloaded each time they upgrade the program. Every time they upgrade major problems occur. This last time nobody in their support staff has been able to solve the problem. Use anything else!

Reviewer: Tracy Schiemenz27th February 2014
SOS no more.

SOS was once great, but no more. Don't waste your money on this. There is no longer any customer service.

Reviewer: Gayle V. Cook10th February 2014
SOS was good, but no longer.

When I first started using this service it was great. Everything worked well and the 24/7 phone support was outstanding. Now (as of February, 2014) there is virtually no technical support whatsoever. NONE over the phone and the online support takes days to respond. Plus, newer versions of files aren't backed up if one exists with the same name (earlier version of same document).

Reviewer: Bob Pallas10th February 2014
\"Blame the customer\"

I had a dreadful experience with SOS that could have cost me hundreds of thousands of dollars. Fortunately, I had safeguarded the backup with a manual hard drive backup just a day before the drive crashed. SOS would be set up on automatic backup. It would sometimes work and sometimes not. When I checked on it periodically, it would show no attempt to back up for days or weeks and the auto schedule would literally disappear. I had to start over several times. Also, when my drive crashed, I went online to obtain the web-backup and re-install. It would give me messages that the server was too "busy" and to try back later. It did this for a week until I figured out I had a hard backup that I could use and I did. SOS customer service refused to refund my money saying that I could have used a special link and a special download and that the error messages were because I had too much data. Why would they back up the data if it was too much to "recover" the normal way? I am very unhappy and worst of all, they don't care at all. Their motto appears to be "blame the consumer."

Reviewer: Unhappy cusotmer11th December 2013
Misleading and no support

Less features for Mac than Windows but it's not disclosed anywhere. Long backup time and bad support. Tried to backup from an external drive but out of my 120GB it only backed up 50.

Reviewer: Paco5th November 2013