LiveDrive Review

LiveDrive Review

Cloud storage servers and data centers have risen to address a growing demand for software-based storage capabilities. Among the many service providers you can choose from, Livedrive seems to be one of the most well-established options to select and work with in maintaining your data in a safe and secure server. Livedrive is one of the best and most affordable cloud backup companies online.

Features:

The features of Livedrive are innumerable and are of great-value for business clients looking for the best deals on their storage space finances. Getting storage space from the company gives you the ability to store and access files and media, such as pictures and documents as well as music and video streaming. It is integrated with a Facebook-ready feature and a personal Livedrive web portal for any new updates. The software program can be downloaded as a mobile app from Apple's iPad and iPhone.

Summary:

Overall, services delivered by Livedrive are definitely handy when it comes to uploading and accessing your business data. However, if you have questions regarding the system's backup stability, security, techniques and the overall stability of this online cloud service provider, then read on as we discuss some of its focal points.

Product Ideology:

With the concept of having unlimited storage space for a commercial-ready price and exclusive features that go along with it, Livedrive is definitely an alluring service provider for backup storage. With a personalized web portal which is given after you register an account with the company, you can choose your own URL that will give you direct entry to your saved and uploaded files, making it a more convenient and time-saving process.

Security:

Security is one of the many contributing factors when it comes to backup storage services. You will have complete confidence that your personal and confidential files and media will not be leaked or hacked by unauthorized individuals. For Livedrive, this is not a problem, with their efficient round-the-clock database monitoring systems that are facilitated by competent technicians.

Storage Space:

As mentioned earlier, the storage space that Livedrive allows is unlimited. Considering the competitive pricing per month, whether its the basic or premium plan, you are certainly getting the best value for your money with Livedrive.

Ease Of Use:

Livedrive's desktop software is easy and very simple to use. You can upload and download files directly from the computer. The Drag and Drop features make it much easier as all you have to do is drag and drop the files you wish to upload on Livedrive's web interface which is armed with a powerful Java uploader and serves as a drop-box for your files.

Customer Support:

Regarding Livedrive's customer support, the company is able to reply to all email reports in less than a day, and provides their customer support services 7 days per week through emails. All issues and inquiries are replied for and given priority equally to ensure that you won't have to wait more than a day for solutions.

LiveDrive Customer Reviews Write Review
Livedrive isn\'t worth it

First off, Livedrive "claim" to offer "unlimited" backup space which is the biggest pile of brown stuff that comes out of your bottom I have EVER heard! I was storing about 690GB on their service when I got an E-Mail stating I had breached their TOS by using too much bandwidth/storage.

Considering Livedrive has a very good De-Duplication system (which I have to admit, is the best thing about them as so far no one else has one) which means that if you upload a file (say for instance a song) and someone else has uploaded the same song, it "copies" it into your account meaning they don't have two copies of the same file on their servers, I can't really see how you can use too much.

I've had my HDD crash before and when I came to restore, about 35% of my data was corrupted. Photos we're pixelated or only loaded half the photo whilst the other half was just a green line. Music files played and stopped half way through as did videos, over all this was a very poor experience and I lost over 100GB of data due to this.

Support is horrendous at best, it takes days to get any type of response. Their support ticket system gives you a drop down list where you can select roughly why you are messaging them (Login issues, software issues, bug reports etc) but NEVER under any circumstances select the "Cancellations" from the drop down box as I swear they just go straight into the recycling bin as I'm yet to receive a reply (waiting over TWO months) yet any other subject I pick takes about 10 days.

The software is very basic and although it gives you the ability to control upload/download speeds that's the only good thing about it. You can't prioritise what files you want backing up first and it seems to be very very slow when scanning for files in the first place.

Overall, I would steer clear of Livedrive and any resellers (YES! Livedrive cancel reseller accounts too if the combined data of their customers uses too much bandwidth/storage) and look elsewhere. Most of the 5 star reviews are written by Livedrive themselves as are the "Testimonials" on their website.

Reviewer: Mark Atherstone10th December 2014
don\'t waste your money

I spent over $1900 on their white label reseller account. after spending hundreds of dollars on developers trying to get it setup, I come to find out that the product doesn't work very well. briefcase locks up all the time and the backup locks the pst file so you can't open outlook.
I can't sell the crap software to my customers.
BIG waste of money.

Reviewer: Glen Hackler27th October 2014
Backed up directories went missing

After checking my backup via their web portal I noticed that two of my directories just disappeared, although the website indicates that they have 24/7 support I have to wait for the next day before my email was replied to and then it was just standard responses with delaying tack ticks.

I eventually had to re-run my backup to ensure my data was secure, when I asked them to investigate the issue and reassure me that they could recover my files from the original corrupt backup (I made sure I left it on their portal so it could be investigated) they just told me that they were unable to and that I should continue to use my new backup set.

Totally oblivious to the fact that the issue was that my original backup was corrupt and if I had not noticed it I was have been in real trouble if I have ever needed to recover me data.


Reviewer: Chris1st October 2014
a breach of Section 20 of the Terms of Use

After 5 years they just kicked me out because of a reason they will not explain... when they told me what the problemm is/was i could take actions. They call it a breach of Section 20 of the Terms of Use... thanx for the service!

Reviewer: Eric16th June 2014
THEY LIKE TO PLAY BIG BROTHER

While the service is great if you can get it to work, however, they really hate you if you use a lot of space. I had over 1TB of storage and about 4 months after my annual renewal came up, they told me I'm in Breach of the Terms of Use. When I asked why, they pointed to a document that said it was either because I used it a lot, had files that were illegal (meaning they scan your stuff), or were using them as if you were a business. When I asked why, I received no answer.So now I paid a bunch for something and I'm being kicked out.

Besides their BS politics, I had frequently files disappear, had to rebuild the sync often, and was plagued with software issues.

STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS

Reviewer: Ticked off15th June 2014
Visit LiveDrive
LiveDrive Customer Reviews Write Review
Livedrive isn\'t worth it

First off, Livedrive "claim" to offer "unlimited" backup space which is the biggest pile of brown stuff that comes out of your bottom I have EVER heard! I was storing about 690GB on their service when I got an E-Mail stating I had breached their TOS by using too much bandwidth/storage.

Considering Livedrive has a very good De-Duplication system (which I have to admit, is the best thing about them as so far no one else has one) which means that if you upload a file (say for instance a song) and someone else has uploaded the same song, it "copies" it into your account meaning they don't have two copies of the same file on their servers, I can't really see how you can use too much.

I've had my HDD crash before and when I came to restore, about 35% of my data was corrupted. Photos we're pixelated or only loaded half the photo whilst the other half was just a green line. Music files played and stopped half way through as did videos, over all this was a very poor experience and I lost over 100GB of data due to this.

Support is horrendous at best, it takes days to get any type of response. Their support ticket system gives you a drop down list where you can select roughly why you are messaging them (Login issues, software issues, bug reports etc) but NEVER under any circumstances select the "Cancellations" from the drop down box as I swear they just go straight into the recycling bin as I'm yet to receive a reply (waiting over TWO months) yet any other subject I pick takes about 10 days.

The software is very basic and although it gives you the ability to control upload/download speeds that's the only good thing about it. You can't prioritise what files you want backing up first and it seems to be very very slow when scanning for files in the first place.

Overall, I would steer clear of Livedrive and any resellers (YES! Livedrive cancel reseller accounts too if the combined data of their customers uses too much bandwidth/storage) and look elsewhere. Most of the 5 star reviews are written by Livedrive themselves as are the "Testimonials" on their website.

Reviewer: Mark Atherstone10th December 2014
don\'t waste your money

I spent over $1900 on their white label reseller account. after spending hundreds of dollars on developers trying to get it setup, I come to find out that the product doesn't work very well. briefcase locks up all the time and the backup locks the pst file so you can't open outlook.
I can't sell the crap software to my customers.
BIG waste of money.

Reviewer: Glen Hackler27th October 2014
Backed up directories went missing

After checking my backup via their web portal I noticed that two of my directories just disappeared, although the website indicates that they have 24/7 support I have to wait for the next day before my email was replied to and then it was just standard responses with delaying tack ticks.

I eventually had to re-run my backup to ensure my data was secure, when I asked them to investigate the issue and reassure me that they could recover my files from the original corrupt backup (I made sure I left it on their portal so it could be investigated) they just told me that they were unable to and that I should continue to use my new backup set.

Totally oblivious to the fact that the issue was that my original backup was corrupt and if I had not noticed it I was have been in real trouble if I have ever needed to recover me data.


Reviewer: Chris1st October 2014
a breach of Section 20 of the Terms of Use

After 5 years they just kicked me out because of a reason they will not explain... when they told me what the problemm is/was i could take actions. They call it a breach of Section 20 of the Terms of Use... thanx for the service!

Reviewer: Eric16th June 2014
THEY LIKE TO PLAY BIG BROTHER

While the service is great if you can get it to work, however, they really hate you if you use a lot of space. I had over 1TB of storage and about 4 months after my annual renewal came up, they told me I'm in Breach of the Terms of Use. When I asked why, they pointed to a document that said it was either because I used it a lot, had files that were illegal (meaning they scan your stuff), or were using them as if you were a business. When I asked why, I received no answer.So now I paid a bunch for something and I'm being kicked out.

Besides their BS politics, I had frequently files disappear, had to rebuild the sync often, and was plagued with software issues.

STAY AWAY FROM THESE GUYS

Reviewer: Ticked off15th June 2014
Hopeless

Worked fine at first then stopped - when upgraded to a latest version the call centre managed to disable all my antivirus in an attempt to fix it - which they didn't - since then they have been unobtainable

Reviewer: Marsden17th December 2013
Great backup system

We use the backup side of live drive, not briefcase, as it is simple reliable backup we require.

It was set up once and just left to do its thing for more than 12 months.

It just works!

Invisible, trustworthy, and always up to date. Our users don't even know it's there.

Wonderful value for a small business.

Reviewer: Sheridan11th November 2013
\"Unlimited\" ?

Livedrive worked fine for me until my backup store reached a large size (450GB). Then it started to be unresponsive as did the support. Re-installing made no difference. When I cancelled there was hardly a whimper from Livedrive. I strongly suspect that their 'unlimited' means 'not too much'

Reviewer: Sam Bull8th August 2013