Carbonite Review

Carbonite Review

Carbonite is an excellent choice for an online storage solution no matter if you are looking for something for you home, office, or small business. Their myriad of features provides an excellent assortment from which to choose for any and all of your storage options. If you are just starting to look for a company that can help to provide a storage solution for your small business then look no further than Carbonite.

Features:

All you have to do is sign up with Carbonite to gain access to dozens of great features in just minutes. Just download the software directly from their website and you're on your way to revolutionizing the way you store files for your company. From their military grade encryption methods to simple click file restoration you will be pleased with how easily accessible everything is, and how fast and easy it is to work.

Summary:

Carbonite is an ideal tool for any office environment, and many families have found it to be helpful in maintaining system speed. It provides easy file sharing, and can be accessed from a plethora of computers at any given time. You can also download the apps for Carbonite to your iPod Touch, iPad, iPhone, or even Android and Blackberry device for free access while you are out and about. There is no extra fee for using this service - mobile; just login to your account as you would on a computer.

Customer Support:

Carbonite provides good customer service to all of their clients and has tried to make themselves as available as possible. To do this, their office is open from 8 am until 12 am Eastern Standard Time every day of the week. Their offices are closed during most major US holidays. If you ever experience anything that requires assistance from the company, simply give them a call or send them an email. Worst-case scenario they will give you an answer and help by the end of the next business day.

Carbonite Customer Reviews Write Review
Very slow restore speed

The truth about your backup service is like the details of your car insurance. You don't find out the downside until you have a wreck. I have subscribed to Carbonite for several years, resulting in a 245 GB backup. The day finally came when I lost the contents of my hard drive and had to restore. That's when I discovered how slow the restore download speed is. I have a very fast internet connection, and I'm sitting here eight days later with about 75% of my files restored. Doing a little investigation showed that the download data rate from Carbonite is a mere trickle compared to my network capability. Customer service was very unhelpful. At first they argued with me trying to tell me I wasn't even connected. After about 30 minutes of remotely operating my PC, they finally agreed with what was obvious- it was downloading, albeit very slowly. Their only helpful suggestion was to warn me not to lose power, restart the PC, or lose my internet connection during the restore or I might lose data.

Reviewer: Thad R.26th May 2014
No auto backup videos is a HUGE issue.

Gee, I am total worn off to do manual backup my videos for 10+ years. I cannot accept basic plan that does not included automatic backup videos. The automatic backup video available for Carbonite is only with Prime plan for $150 per year. That is a HUGE issue! It does not make sense to me. The reason why I have Carbonite over 10 years is because of price affordable with basic plan. Now I am really tired of to do manual backup each video. I have at least 500 videos (not all large file, most small file and some large). No more for me with Carbonite. I'm going to MyPCBackup, they backup ALL included video for almost for around $6 per month for 3 years AND external hard drive PLUS two or more computers. Much more cheaper than the Carbonite Prime plan. WTF with Carbonite?

Reviewer: Brett7th May 2014
Unreliable backups

Carbonite has poor customer service and they don't stand behind their product. I found a bug and they simply don't care about fixing it. This is unbelievable.....Carbonite will purge all backup versions of a file when a user deletes that file and recreates it on their PC (with the same name in the same location). I wonder how many other events will cause Carbonite to delete backup versions??

Reviewer: Roger C24th April 2014
Don\'t even think of leaving

When my Mac crashed, I had to reformat my disk. I only want to reload Carbonite to back up new files. However, it would not work. Three 1st level fixes by tech support failed. A second level attempt failed as well. I asked for a refund, but was told we had to keep on trying. It has been six months, still no service.

Reviewer: Dan D. 6th April 2014
Carbonite.... is the worst

There is nothing good about Carbonite but their sales pitch!! I tried to restore my files and they loaded all of my photo files 4 times onto the same PC. It has made my files a mess. The support is just as bad. You will wait on the phone for hours to get any help and it is a different and insufficient answer each time. I am sick to my stomach because of all the work I have to do to clean up my computer. Stay clear of these guys

Reviewer: Pat31st March 2014
Visit Carbonite
Carbonite Customer Reviews Write Review
Very slow restore speed

The truth about your backup service is like the details of your car insurance. You don't find out the downside until you have a wreck. I have subscribed to Carbonite for several years, resulting in a 245 GB backup. The day finally came when I lost the contents of my hard drive and had to restore. That's when I discovered how slow the restore download speed is. I have a very fast internet connection, and I'm sitting here eight days later with about 75% of my files restored. Doing a little investigation showed that the download data rate from Carbonite is a mere trickle compared to my network capability. Customer service was very unhelpful. At first they argued with me trying to tell me I wasn't even connected. After about 30 minutes of remotely operating my PC, they finally agreed with what was obvious- it was downloading, albeit very slowly. Their only helpful suggestion was to warn me not to lose power, restart the PC, or lose my internet connection during the restore or I might lose data.

Reviewer: Thad R.26th May 2014
No auto backup videos is a HUGE issue.

Gee, I am total worn off to do manual backup my videos for 10+ years. I cannot accept basic plan that does not included automatic backup videos. The automatic backup video available for Carbonite is only with Prime plan for $150 per year. That is a HUGE issue! It does not make sense to me. The reason why I have Carbonite over 10 years is because of price affordable with basic plan. Now I am really tired of to do manual backup each video. I have at least 500 videos (not all large file, most small file and some large). No more for me with Carbonite. I'm going to MyPCBackup, they backup ALL included video for almost for around $6 per month for 3 years AND external hard drive PLUS two or more computers. Much more cheaper than the Carbonite Prime plan. WTF with Carbonite?

Reviewer: Brett7th May 2014
Unreliable backups

Carbonite has poor customer service and they don't stand behind their product. I found a bug and they simply don't care about fixing it. This is unbelievable.....Carbonite will purge all backup versions of a file when a user deletes that file and recreates it on their PC (with the same name in the same location). I wonder how many other events will cause Carbonite to delete backup versions??

Reviewer: Roger C24th April 2014
Don\'t even think of leaving

When my Mac crashed, I had to reformat my disk. I only want to reload Carbonite to back up new files. However, it would not work. Three 1st level fixes by tech support failed. A second level attempt failed as well. I asked for a refund, but was told we had to keep on trying. It has been six months, still no service.

Reviewer: Dan D. 6th April 2014
Carbonite.... is the worst

There is nothing good about Carbonite but their sales pitch!! I tried to restore my files and they loaded all of my photo files 4 times onto the same PC. It has made my files a mess. The support is just as bad. You will wait on the phone for hours to get any help and it is a different and insufficient answer each time. I am sick to my stomach because of all the work I have to do to clean up my computer. Stay clear of these guys

Reviewer: Pat31st March 2014
don\'t waste your time or money

Of course, you pay for something for years, assuming its working as expected... until you need it. THEN you have the pleasure of finding out that what you've been paying for has NOT been backing up your files for untold months. Well, after hours of trying to trouble shoot myself, going to their website and constantly receiving error pages telling me their site was down and to try again later, then calling only to sit on hold endlessly with no progress from tech support, then emailing to see if they could schedule a time so I wouldn't have to sit on hold another hour to resolve issues (ha!) and full un-install/re-install and too many attempts at trying to get SOMEBODY at Carbonite to resolve the issue, I finally GAVE UP because in the end, they cost me what amounted to a week of work. So, of course seeing as how tech support was so dismal, it should be no surprise that customer support in disputing their auto-renewal and asking for a refund on their worthless service would be no better. The dodged and stalled and tried to complicate matters on issuing a refund credit back to my card. In fact, after 2 months I am still going back and forth with them. The only thing I've gotten from Carbonite is a waste of time and money thus far.

Reviewer: Mary17th March 2014
Carbonite

Never had a problem with Carbonite. New computer and used it to add files back and worked fine

Reviewer: Jim,7th March 2014
Ask a lot questions!

Just like most of the online backup company's, they will not tell you how long it takes to get a FULL backup of your system. Which is what you want in the first place.

Reviewer: Leon25th February 2014