Carbonite Review

Carbonite Review

Carbonite is an excellent choice for an online storage solution no matter if you are looking for something for you home, office, or small business. Their myriad of features provides an excellent assortment from which to choose for any and all of your storage options. If you are just starting to look for a company that can help to provide a storage solution for your small business then look no further than Carbonite.

Features:

All you have to do is sign up with Carbonite to gain access to dozens of great features in just minutes. Just download the software directly from their website and you're on your way to revolutionizing the way you store files for your company. From their military grade encryption methods to simple click file restoration you will be pleased with how easily accessible everything is, and how fast and easy it is to work.

Summary:

Carbonite is an ideal tool for any office environment, and many families have found it to be helpful in maintaining system speed. It provides easy file sharing, and can be accessed from a plethora of computers at any given time. You can also download the apps for Carbonite to your iPod Touch, iPad, iPhone, or even Android and Blackberry device for free access while you are out and about. There is no extra fee for using this service - mobile; just login to your account as you would on a computer.

Customer Support:

Carbonite provides good customer service to all of their clients and has tried to make themselves as available as possible. To do this, their office is open from 8 am until 12 am Eastern Standard Time every day of the week. Their offices are closed during most major US holidays. If you ever experience anything that requires assistance from the company, simply give them a call or send them an email. Worst-case scenario they will give you an answer and help by the end of the next business day.

Carbonite Customer Reviews Write Review
Carbonite Scam

I bought Carbonite for one year and discontinued it removing all identifiers from my computer. Carbonite sent me a review asking why I cancelled at which time I stated I had chosen another backup provider. About one month later they billed my credit card under the pretext of renewal with a confirmation number. I am presently requesting that the credit card company deny the payment.

Reviewer: Cecil Murray20th October 2013
Excellent service

I have been using it for 3 years. Setup was easy and once setup it is effortless. I just renewed for 2 years.

Reviewer: Brian11th October 2013
Terribly slow and loss of mobile back up.

They used to have a mobile backup option. For whatever reason they removed that. You can still access files through there app, but not back them up. That was their saving grace for me. I'm pretty sure they have slowed down the upload speed since we have around 300 gig of files. After we take a lot of photos and videos it will take days if not weeks to finish backing up everything. Slow upload and now loss of mobile back up. We are switching to someone else.

Reviewer: Jason S6th October 2013
Will not work on Mac OS 10.7 and up

This does not work on Macs anymore! I had the ordeal of waiting nearly half hour for technical support, then another 45 min of them tinkering with preferences, restarting, etc. and worked for a day, then froze unless I restart my machine... I wish they would just admit there is a problem with their product for the latest Mac OS release. It was working like a champ before Lion 10.7, you would think they would have figured it out by now instead of taking my money for a product that is obviously defective now. Time for me to shop around for a reliable backup service... it's really a shame I have to do that...

Reviewer: mmgordon3rd October 2013
Smaller is better.

You better hope that you have a very small hard drive. It took forever to back up my 300gb. They also don't tell you that it runs ALL THE TIME! Even when I turned it off, it still ran in the background. Really slowed down my machine. Removed it after 3 days.

Reviewer: Joe Hardgrove27th September 2013
Visit Carbonite
Carbonite Customer Reviews Write Review
Carbonite Scam

I bought Carbonite for one year and discontinued it removing all identifiers from my computer. Carbonite sent me a review asking why I cancelled at which time I stated I had chosen another backup provider. About one month later they billed my credit card under the pretext of renewal with a confirmation number. I am presently requesting that the credit card company deny the payment.

Reviewer: Cecil Murray20th October 2013
Excellent service

I have been using it for 3 years. Setup was easy and once setup it is effortless. I just renewed for 2 years.

Reviewer: Brian11th October 2013
Terribly slow and loss of mobile back up.

They used to have a mobile backup option. For whatever reason they removed that. You can still access files through there app, but not back them up. That was their saving grace for me. I'm pretty sure they have slowed down the upload speed since we have around 300 gig of files. After we take a lot of photos and videos it will take days if not weeks to finish backing up everything. Slow upload and now loss of mobile back up. We are switching to someone else.

Reviewer: Jason S6th October 2013
Will not work on Mac OS 10.7 and up

This does not work on Macs anymore! I had the ordeal of waiting nearly half hour for technical support, then another 45 min of them tinkering with preferences, restarting, etc. and worked for a day, then froze unless I restart my machine... I wish they would just admit there is a problem with their product for the latest Mac OS release. It was working like a champ before Lion 10.7, you would think they would have figured it out by now instead of taking my money for a product that is obviously defective now. Time for me to shop around for a reliable backup service... it's really a shame I have to do that...

Reviewer: mmgordon3rd October 2013
Smaller is better.

You better hope that you have a very small hard drive. It took forever to back up my 300gb. They also don't tell you that it runs ALL THE TIME! Even when I turned it off, it still ran in the background. Really slowed down my machine. Removed it after 3 days.

Reviewer: Joe Hardgrove27th September 2013
Your files must stay on your computer

Although Carbonite gets rave reviews from many of my friends, when I called to visit about my specific requirements, I was told that all files backed on their server must stay on my computer. When I move them elsewhere, the newest backup will no longer include those files. So, it appears that the backup is overwritten each time. Not what I need.

Reviewer: Della Moyer11th September 2013
FALSE CLAIM

I ABSOLUTELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND CARBONITE!!! The mirror image backup not only failed to restore my hard drive, IT CAUSED THE DAMAGE. I purchased a new external hard drive to make this backup. It finished after several hours and I shut down my computer. My computer started to boot from this external drive the very next time it was powered on and corrupted my C drive. I eventually had to take my computer to Best Buy ($199) to run a recovery of my hard drive because it could not be restored from the mirror image. Many of the drivers were either missing or corrupted and the HP drivers would not install properly. The only option was to restore my hard drive to the factory settings. It took me several days and many telephone calls to reinstall all my software, data, and recover my personal settings. CARBONITE COULD NOT HELP ME. They do agree that the computer should not have booted from the mirror image but told me that is was caused by the hardware configuration in my new HP ENVY h8-1440t computer. They offered me a two month extension on my subscription which I did not accept. My offer to Carbonite is to respond to these comments and I will post them along with my review on the Internet.

PS: I invited Carbonite to respond to my comments but they did not and I am not surprised. Bottom Line: CARBONITE MADE A CLAIM THAT WAS FALSE BUT, WORSE YET, ACTUALLY CAUSED THE PROBLEM!!!!!

Reviewer: John McFarland7th September 2013
SLOW, SLOW, SLOW

So slow it is just useless for the kind of back up I need. I am traveling with my laptop now and was hoping to have a safe secure back up online in case disaster strikes. Well, so far after WEEKS of uploading it has only backed up 156 Gigabytes of the total 316 Gigs that I need to protect. What's more, I am hearing that once it gets to the 200 gig point it will automatically throttle it further. Such a back up will then take SEVERAL MONTHS to complete. Yikes! I need something better than this. NOW!

Reviewer: S. A. Mitchell7th September 2013